Vowalic Freedom

If America was truly a free country, we would also have vowalic freedom in language. People would write in acronyms, and the humans would rely on intellect and perception to form words to their liking. Of course, one might not appreciate the feedback they get when they intend to convey I LV U, and the reader interprets that as IS LIVING-IT UP.

Now, that might be too liberal to offer freely to the untrained world. So let’s just simplify it. Think immigrants. They learn to speak English in America, but they apply their lifelong accents to their words. If you take great pains not to laugh at them, but treasure the gift of humor in the situation, this can be fun. Think of how quickly a ‘shoemaker’ can become a ‘shmekker’ (Yiddish for stinker). Or how about “All American men are eunuch. Am I not saying it right… U-N-I-Q-U-E?” (credit: Miriam R.). In the end, we worry if they are getting proper medical care, if they tell their doctor, “I’m hevving trubble breeding”.

It’s all about vowalic freedom. If you can’t handle it, don’t surround yourself with diversity. You will end up being caught up with the American talk. “So um, like, you know, I was like, oh, my gawd”. If that is all you can handle, by all means, go for it. For me though, it makes me squeamish. Where does one go from there? Rapid death by linguistics. Immigrants, please join me. I want to be in your presence; for I too, am an immigrant, and ILVU.

One thought on “Vowalic Freedom

  1. Glicklech says:

    Shoulda been ILVY.

    Having trouble breeding! Reminds me of a good photo… hold on, lemme dig it up.
    Here ya go: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=366216300075454&set=a.366216293408788.91222.212828842080868&type=1

Leave a comment