Of Course I Remember You

Of course I remember you,
how could you ever say that?
How could I ever forget?
Of course I remember you!

You dominate my daytime thoughts,
and re-emerge in the nightdreams shorts,
closing my eyes only gives me more light
my tears only add more colors so bright.

You are always in front of my face,
your smell is the only thing I can taste,
you don’t just smell like any other girl,
this is you, your scentprint to the world.

Your fluffy golden hair, I remember it all
in wavy cascades, how it falls
over your shoulders, down your back
full of life, that glistening stack.

All the times you changed your shampoo,
your scent is still a combination of you
nothing ever changes if you try a new style
you are always mine, throughout all of time.

Your fingers I would recognize even in the dark,
your unique shape is obvious, so stark.
I know your fingernails, and your moves of grace,
that little brown spot in the corner of your face.

I know the way your eyes sometimes squint,
when you have something you want to hint,
the corners of your mouth scrunch and twirl,
into a little rosebud, waiting to unfurl.

Your mischievous little mind always taking a trip,
never waiting for someone to let you slip.
You stand strong because I taught you well,
you use all of your genetic protective shell.

How can I forget you, my beautiful child,
you know you are just like me, child of mine,
your birthday is another marker in time for you and me.
when I stand tall alongside you, wherever you may be.

8 thoughts on “Of Course I Remember You

  1. joe2poetry says:

    Wonderful sentiment and very well expressed.

  2. A Pakistani Boy says:

    Awww! It’s so sweet! And the love of the child 😉 Beautiful

  3. spill71 says:

    So beautiful, so inspired by love, the best creator

  4. Beautiful. Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting. I look forward to spending time here with you.

  5. Alex says:

    making me ‘greet’ again…….thinking about me and my Mum: big hugs to you
    Alexxxxxx

  6. I’m a little bit misty-eyed. (Is your daughter on the spectrum?)

Leave a Reply

